Rehearsal and Performance Venues

 

Rehearsals and performances are held in Greenwall Auditorium of the VAPA building at Bennington College, and rehearsals are for full orchestra unless otherwise noted. The standard rehearsal start time for the 2014-15 season will be 5:45 PM with an end time of 8:30 PM. Location or time may be need to be changed based on unanticipated conflicts with the College's activities, so please check this site or our Facebook page regularly.

Players should bring a music stand.

Old rehearsal schedules may be available by contacting the webmaster via email. Reheasal schedules presently available are:

2014-15 Schedule

 

Below are the performance and rehearsal dates and times for the 2014-15 season. The perfomances will all be in Greenwall Auditorium at 4pm on a Sunday. Please note alternate locations or time shifts on October 19 2014 and May 10 2015, and a possible string rehearsal for the Winter Chamber program on November 23. Recheck this page as we get closer to September for more details on programs, rehearsal order and snacks.

Fall Concert, Sunday November 16 2014 at 4pm

  • Program: Henry Brant - Whoopie in D (for woodwinds), Michael Wimberly - Kora Saba: For Djembe and Chamber Orchestra, Charles Ives - Three Places in New England, Cavatina from Beethoven's string quartet Opus 130
  • Rehearsals
  • Sunday Sept 21, 5:45-8:30 pm, Strings only - snacks 1st violins and violas
  • Sunday Sept 28, 5:45-8:30 pm,Strings only - snacks 2nd violins, cellos, bass
  • Sunday Oct 5, 5:45-8:30 pm, No strings - Rehearsal for woodwinds, brass, percussion and timpani only. Snacks all in this group
  • Sunday Oct 12 is Columbus Day
  • Sunday Oct 19, 5:45-8:30 pm, Rehearsal location TBA, Snacks 1st violins, cellos and violas
  • Sunday Oct 26, 5:45-8:30 pm, Snacks 2nd violins, bass and brass
  • Sunday Nov 2, 5:45-8:30 pm, Snacks woodwinds and percussion
  • Sunday Nov 9, 5:45-8:30 pm, Snacks all strings
  • Saturday Nov 15, Dress Rehearsal 5:45-8:30 pm, Snacks woodwinds, brass and percussion
  • Sunday Nov 16, Sound Check at 2pm and performance at 4pm
 

Winter Concert, Sunday February 1 2015 at 4pm

  • Program: Beethoven Eroica, Roland Gori short work for chamber orchestra, harpsichord concerto (work TBA) with Sandra Mangsen soloist
  • Rehearsals
  • Sunday Nov 23 2014, 5:45-8:30 pm, possible string rehearsal for Eroica
  • Sunday Jan 11 2015, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday Jan 18 2015, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday Jan 25 2015, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Saturday Jan 31 2015, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday Feb 1, Sound Check at 2pm and performance at 4pm
 

Youth Concert, Sunday March 15 2015 at 4pm

  • Young Composer's Program: Works by area high school students and Vaughn Williams' Tuba Concerto, soloist Nolan Downey
  • Rehearsals
  • Sunday Feb 22, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday Mar 1, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday Mar 8, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Saturday Mar 14 Dress Rehearsal 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday Mar 15, Sound Check at 2pm and performance at 4pm
 

Spring Concert, Sunday May 17 2015 at 4pm

  • Rehearsals
  • Sunday Mar 29, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Easter is April 5
  • Sunday Apr 12, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday Apr 19, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday Apr 26, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday May 3, 5:45-8:30 pm
  • Sunday May 10, 4:30 - 7:30pm, Note earlier time
  • Saturday May 16, Dress rehearsal, exact time TBA
  • Sunday May 17, Sound Check at 2pm and performance at 4pm